2015 Winner:
Anjana Silva
Sri Lanka/Australia

2014 Winners:
Laura Hondebrink and
Anne-Sophie Hanak
The Netherlands

2013 Winner:
Alex Manini

2012 Winner:
Hisham Alhaddad

2011 Winner:
Geert Verstegen

2010 Winner:
Maria Guratowska


The Young Investigator Award

This award is designed to encourage young investigators to perform original research on a subject related to clinical toxicology or poison control, submit the research to the EAPCCT annual congress and to come to the congress to present their research.

Application criteria

The young investigator is defined as <40 years of age and must be the principal investigator of the research being presented. The research submitted must be original and must not have been published or presented at another conference. Applicants do not need to be members of EAPCCT but they must be present at the congress to present the research. Previous winners are not eligible. Current members of the EAPCCT Board and Scientific Committee are not eligible to apply for the Young Investigator Award, but they may appear as co-authors on the abstract. Information is also available through the Congress Website.

Rules for the EAPCCT Young Investigator Award

Judging the winner

Abstracts are submitted for the congress via the EAPCCT website in the usual way. At the time of submission authors are asked if they meet the age criteria for the award. Abstracts are scored by multiple referees as part of the general EAPCCT abstract reviewing process. This includes a score for overall quality. The chairman of the Scientific and Meetings Committee makes a preliminary shortlist of abstracts to be considered for the award, using the average scores from the review process. The Committee members decide about the final shortlist. Those on the final shortlist are invited to make an oral presentation of their work at the Young Investigator session at the congress. The quality of presentations is judged by 3 senior judges who are invited to do this by the chairman of the Scientific and Meetings Committee. The judges will score each presentation on the basis of scientific quality, clarity of the presentation, the originality of the research and the skill of the presenter in answering questions from the audience. The award is made to the winner at the end of the session.

Conflict of interest of Scientific and Meetings Committee members and the judges are taken into account during abstract scoring and judging the winner.

Recent Awardees

2017 Winner: Daniel J. Antoine
Mechanistic biomarkers stratify patients after paracetamol overdose with high sensitivity and specificity. Dear JW (1), Clarke JI (2), Francis B (2), Philips L (1), Wraight J (1), Dargan PI (3), Wood DM (3), Cooper J (4), Thomas SHL (5), Jorgensen A (2), Pirmohamed M (2), Park BK (2), Antoine DJ (2).
1 University of Edinburgh, Edinburgh, UK;
2 University of Liverpool, Liverpool, UK;
3 Guy’s and St Thomas’ NHS Foundation Trust, London, UK;
4 Aberdeen Royal Infirmary, Aberdeen, UK;
5 Newcastle University, Newcastle, UK

2016 Winner: Dino Luethi
Hepatotoxicity of novel psychoactive substances structurally related to 3,4-methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) and methamphetamine.
Luethi D (1), Krähenbühl S (1), Liechti ME (1)
1 Clinical Pharmacology and Toxicology, University Hospital, Basel, Switzerland;